The winners and losers: Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull’s new ‘ministry


- Sponserd Ads -

New Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has announced his Cabinet, stamping his mark on government with sweeping changes that he said represent ‘a 21st century Government and a ministry for the future’.

Among the biggest changes – and the most widely expected – announced by Mr Turnbull on Sunday afternoon was the appointment of Scott Morrison as Treasurer, replacing Joe Hockey.


Kevin Andrews – not reappointed as Defence Minister

Joe Hockey – not reappointed as Treasurer, resigning from parliament

Eric Abetz – not reappointed as Minister for Employment

Ian Macfarlane – not reappointed as the Resources Minister

Bruce Billson – not reappointed as Small Business Minister


Scott Morrison – Treasurer

Marise Payne – first female Defence Minister

Michaelia Cash – Minister for Employment, Minister for women, and Minister assisting the PM for the public service

Kelly O’Dwyer – Minister for Small Business and the Assistant Treasurer, a position which has been elevated to Cabinet

Simon Birmingham – Minister for Education and training

Christian Porter – joins cabinet as Minister for social services

Josh Frydenberg – elevated to Cabinet as Minister for Resources, energy, and northern Australia

Mr Hockey immediately made the shock announcement that he would not just be leaving the frontbench but would be resigning from parliament altogether.

Another major winner is Senator Marise Payne, who joins cabinet as the first female Defence Minister in Australia’s history, replacing Kevin Andrews.

Eric Abetz was not reappointed as Minister for Employment, with Michaelia Cash taking on that portfolio.

Ms Cash has also been appointed as the Minister for women, and Minister assisting the PM for the public service.

The fifth minister who did not retain a position in cabinet was Bruce Billson, who lost his role as the Small Business Minister.

That portfolio was taken on by Kelly O’Dwyer, who is also the Assistant Treasurer, a position which has been elevated to cabinet.

Julie Bishop, a key supporter of Mr Turnbull in his successful challenge to Tony Abbott last week, keeps her role as Foreign Minister and Deputy Liberal Leader.

A beaming Ms Bishop stood beside Mr Turnbull at his press conference in Canberra where he announced the new lineup.

The appointment of Anne Rufton as the Assistant Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources takes the number of women in cabinet to five.

Christopher Pyne, who held the education portfolio, has now been appointed as the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science.

The Abbott government was heavily critcised for not having a Minister for Science.

Simon Birmingham was named as the new Minister for Education and Training, while Josh Frydenberg was elevated to cabinet as Minister for Resources, energy, and northern Australia.

Christian Porter takes over from Scott Morrison as the Minister for Social Services.

George Brandis remains the Attorney-General, and has also been appointed as leader of the Government in the Senate.

Mathias Cormann kept his position as the Minister for Finance, and has also been appointed Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate.

Deputy Prime Minister Warren Truss retained that position, and was also appointed the Minister for Regional Development.

Jamie Briggs will take on the role of Minister for Cities and the Built Environment.

A number of ministers also retained their positions, including Greg Hunt as Environment Minister, Barnaby Joyce as the Minister for Agriculture, Peter Dutton as the Minister for Defence, and Susan Ley as Health Minister.

Online Source

The Indian Telegraph Sydney Australia

Share post:


More like this

Miss India Australia 2021 Winner

Sanya Arora, 22 years, dermal therapist, from Melbourne, has been...

Visa changes to support the reopening of Australia and our economic recovery

The Morrison Government is making it easier for highly...

Sydney international terminal bustling once again

After nearly 600 days of closed foreign borders, I...