30.1 C
Friday, October 23, 2020

Khel Ratna For PV Sindhu, Dipa Karmakar, Sakshi Malik, Jitu Rai For Rio 2016 Show

Must read

Kiwis escape journey bubble and attempt to enter Queensland

The variety of New Zealanders who've escaped Australia’s journey bubble have now unfold into Queensland.Two Kiwis tried to enter the sunshine state on...

Cricket: Cricket NSW won’t take any gambling sponsors or allow advertising at Big Bash games in NSW

Big Bash games in NSW will be even more free of gambling promotions after a deal was signed to remove all advertising from...

Rio Olympics 2016 medallists PV Sindhu (badminton) and Sakshi Malik (wrestling) have been awarded the Khel Ratna award for 2016. The highest sporting award of the country has also been given to Dipa Karmakar and Jitu Rai.

Dipa Karmakar’s coach Bisweshwar Nandi is among six coaches who has been awarded the Dronacharya Award for 2016.

Virat Kohli’s coach Raj Kumar Sharma has also got the Dronacharya Award.

Others to receive the Dronacharya Award are: Nagapuri Ramesh (athletics), Sagar Mal Dhayal (boxing), Pradeep Kumar (swimming – lifetime) and Mahabir Singh (wrestling – lifetime).

PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik were the only medallists in Rio Olympics. While Sindhu became the first Indian woman ever to win a silver medal at the Olympics, Sakshi was the first Indian woman ever to win a wrestling medal(bronze) at the Summer Games.

Dipa Karmakar missed the vault bronze medal by a whisker but she had already created history when she became the first Indian to qualify for the final of a gymnastics event in the Olympics.

Jitu Rai, a Commonwealth Games champion, entered the final of one his shooting events but was largely a flop. His award comes as a bit of surprise.

Fifteen sportspersons have been awarded the Arjuna Award. Cricketer Ajinkya Rahane finds himself on a list that has two each from hockey, shooting and wrestling.

Para-athlete Sandeep Singh Mann and deaf wrestler Virender Singh were also given the Arjuna Award for this year.

The complete Arjuna Award list is as follows: Rajat Chauhan (archery), Lalita Babar (athletics), Sourav Kothari (billiards and snooker), Shiva Thapa (boxing), Ajinkya Rahane (cricket), Subrata Paul (football), Rani (hockey), VR Raghunath (hockey), Gurpreet Singh and Apurvi Chandela (shooting), Soumyajit Ghosh (table tennis), Vinesh Phogat and Amit Kumar (wrestling), Sandeep Singh Mann (para-athletics), Virender Singh (wrestling – deaf).

The Dhyan Chand Award 2015 has gone to Satti Geetha (athletics), Dung Dung (hockey) and Rajendra Pralhad Shelke (rowing).

Online Source

The Indian Telegraph Sydney Australia

Latest article

ASIC boss James Shipton steps aside over $118k relocation-related payments

The chair of Australia’s financial watchdog has stepped aside after being paid more than $118,000 in relocation-related expenses, which were deemed excessive.Australian Securities...

Qantas: Flights to UK, US unlikely for another year, Alan Joyce says

Qantas says European and North American flights will be out of action until the “end of 2021”, but the national carrier is hopeful...

Denise Jane Lee: Judge overturns doctor’s ‘tone deaf’ jail sentence

A former Sydney doctor’s jail term for harassing the partner of an ex-Tinder flame has been overturned as a judge took aim at...

NRL and AFL grand finals weather: What to expect this weekend

Wild weather is due to hit the eastern half of Australia on Friday, dumping a lot of rain and strong winds on parts...

Thule stroller recall over fears it could injure children

A stroller has been recalled over fears a defect could cause risk of injury to children. The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission issued...