India Australia Business and Community Awards Calling for Nominations


- Sponserd Ads -

Nominations Opened on Wednesday 8 April 2015

The annual India Australia Business & Community Awards 2015 (IABCA) gala sponsored by Kaden Boriss will take place on Friday 30th October at the IVY Ballroom in Sydney. IABCA engages, connects and recognises the role played by Australian Indians in shaping this nation via an awards ceremony. Nominations to the awards are now open  across 12 categories.

IABCA is produced and directed by Gandhi Creations; an Award Winning Event Management Company that specialises in Cultural Diversity Events.

Master of Ceremonies, IABCA 2015 Jenny Brockie, Host, Insight SBS ONE

Jenny Brockie


Jenny is one of Australia’s most experienced and respected journalists and broadcasters. She currently hosts Insight (, Australia’s leading forum for debate and powerful first person stories. Each week, Jenny leads a lively conversation and dives deep into a single topic, bringing together surprising and unpredictable guests. Jenny has won numerous awards for her work over several decades, including the Gold Walkley for Excellence in Journalism, a 2013 Walkley for Best Interview (Insight’s ‘Young Mob’ episode), a Logie and two AFI Awards for documentary making. She began her broadcasting career with ABC television and radio news, has reported extensively both nationally and internationally, and hosted The Morning Show on ABC 702 Sydney. Her ground breaking feature length TV documentary Cop It Sweet, about Sydney’s Redfern police, won five major television awards.

The Hon Tony Abbott MP, Prime Minister of Australia

tony-abbott-official“I am pleased to provide this message for the India Australia Business and Community Awards 2015. This event is an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of an outstanding group of Indian Australians. These Awards come at a time when the potential for Australia’s relationship with India to grow and prosper has never been greater. This relationship dates back more than 200 years. In 1795, the very first cargo to be shipped out of New South Wales was mahogany and cedar bound for India. Today, India is our 5th largest export market and 11th largest trading partner with two-way trade in goods and services worth in excess of $15 billion. I pay tribute to the India Australia Business and Community Awards for its support of achievement and cultural exchange, and send my warmest congratulations to this year’s award recipients.

Ita Butrose AO, OBE is 2013 Australian of the Year

I am delighted that Alzheimer’s Australia has been chosen as the charity partner for the India Australia Business and Community Awards. As National President of Alzheimer’s Australia from 2011 to 2014, and in my ongoing role as an Ambassador, I have seen first-hand the important work our organisation does to support Australians with dementia and also their families and carers. Having the opportunity to be involved in events like the Awards gives us the opportunity to share with more people the constant and growing issues surrounding dementia. I thank everyone at IABCA for the opportunity to raise awareness about a topic that is close to my heart. I look forward to seeing you all there.

Nominations will open Wednesday 8th April and close Friday 12th June 2015. Click here to nominate. Nominating for IABCA will help gain recognition at a local, state and national level. It will raise community profile and showcase businesses to a global audience, while celebrating successful migrant journeys.

(There are no fees associated with nominating. In 2015, IABCA nominations are paperless. We have invested in sophisticated software that will allow you to conduct the entire nomination process online, making it an effective paperless and environmentally friendly process.)

Award Categories:

 Young Professional of the Year 2015

 Young Community Achiever of the Year 2015

 Community Services Excellence Award 2015

 Community Association of the Year 2015

 Business Leader or Professional of the Year 2015

 Educational Institute of the Year 2015

 Technology Services Provider of the Year 2015

 Travel Agency of the Year 2015

 Indian Restaurant of the Year 2015

 Small Business of the Year 2015

 SME of the Year 2015

 Indian Australian Ambassador of the Year 2015 (non-contested)

National Panel of Industry Leaders:

Sarat Chandran, Director, Indo-Australian Chamber of Commerce

Michael Carter, State Director WA, Austrade

Brian Hayes QC, a Barrister and Legal Policy, Environmental and Human Rights Lawyer and Institutional Advisor, Adjunct Professor Uni SA, Consulting Editor and Planning Law SA. He is an Hon Life Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia and former Chairman of the Bar Council of SA and a Distinguished Fellow of the Australia India Institute

Dr G.K (Harry) Harinath, MBBS, DTM&H OAM, Chairman, Multicultural NSW

Dr Marlene Kanga AM is currently a board member of Sydney Water Corporation, the Acting chair of the Innovation Australia board and chair of the R&D Incentives Committee and Director of iOmniscient Pty Ltd 

Peter Kerr, NSW Executive Director, Asialink

Sunil Lal, Executive Chairman, Kaden Boriss Legal Group, former Board member of the Australia-India Business Council and the Australia-India Chamber of Commerce

Kumud Merani, National Executive Producer, SBS Hindi Radio, Australia Day Ambassador

Michael Moignard, Former Australian Trade Commissioner and Director of EastWest Academy Pty Ltd

Dr Sev Ozdowski OAM FAICD, is Director, Equity and Diversity at the University of Western Sydney and Hon. Professor in the Centre of Peace and Conflict Studies at Sydney University and Chair of Australian Multicultural Council and President of the Australian Council for Human Rights Education

Julie Owens MP a member of the Australian House of Representatives since October 2004, representing the Parramatta area for the Australian Labor Party and Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business and Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Education

The Hon Philip Rudduck MP, (Liberal Party, Member for Berowra) Chief Government Whip.

Harish Rao, Global Head – Business Development, Sundaram Business Services and former chairman Australia India Business Council

Lisa Singh, Tasmania Labor Senator

Jim Varghese AM, Executive Director Business Development, Australia India Institute

IABCA is supported by Australia India Business Council, Asialink, Australia India Institute & Multicultural NSW

Further information please contact

Warm Regards

Sonia Sadiq Gandhi

Director, Gandhi Creations Pty. Ltd.


NSW Deepavali Advisory Group Paul Harris Fellow, Rotary International

Women in Business & Media Chapter Australia India Business Council  Mobile: 0414 497 791


W: W:

Director: India Australia Business & Community Awards 2015

Director: Multicultural NSW 2013 facebook/GandhiCreations

Share post:


More like this

Miss India Australia 2021 Winner

Sanya Arora, 22 years, dermal therapist, from Melbourne, has been...

Visa changes to support the reopening of Australia and our economic recovery

The Morrison Government is making it easier for highly...

Sydney international terminal bustling once again

After nearly 600 days of closed foreign borders, I...