2016 Local Government Elections On September 10


- Sponserd Ads -

Minister for Local Government Paul Toole today urged everyone enrolled to vote in the local government elections to check whether their council is holding an election this September 10.

“The NSW Electoral Commission is managing the vast majority of local council elections scheduled to be held on Saturday 10 September and has initiated an information and advertising campaign to the wider community over the past weeks,” Mr Toole said.

“It’s important for communities to be aware that not everyone will be required to vote in the local government elections on Saturday, September 10.

“As two council elections were wholly uncontested, 78 councils will hold elections on September 10 and 48 councils have had their elections deferred until next year.”

One further council, Tweed Shire Council, has had its election rescheduled to 29 October 2016 due to the death of a candidate.

Newly-formed councils, and councils subject to merger proposals, have had their elections deferred until next year and people enrolled to vote in those councils will not be required to vote on September 10.

Five small rural councils have uncontested elections for either the whole council (Coolamon Shire Council and Carrathool Shire Council) or one or more of the council’s wards.

“I would urge anyone who is uncertain about whether they are required to vote on September 10 to visit www.votensw.info where they can check their enrolment details and look up their enrolled street address to find out whether they will need to vote,” Mr Toole said.

“This resource is provided by the NSW Electoral Commission, which has responsibility for making people aware of local government elections, and it is reminding the community that voting is compulsory.”

Council areas and wards with uncontested elections that were scheduled for Saturday, 10 September 2016

There will be no voting on Saturday, 10 September 2016 for the following council areas or wards:

  • Carrathool Shire Council – Ward A
  • Carrathool Shire Council – Ward B
  • Coolamon Shire Council
  • Lachlan Shire Council – A Ward
  • Lachlan Shire Council – E Ward
  • Lockhart Shire Council – C Ward
  • Warren Shire Council – B Ward

Councils holding elections on Saturday, 10 September 2016

Councils not listed below are involved in a merger and will not be holding an election until 2017.

Councils administering their own elections in September 2016

The following councils are administering their own elections. Please contact the council directly for pre-poll venue information.

The Indian Telegraph Sydney Australia

Share post:


More like this

Miss India Australia 2021 Winner

Sanya Arora, 22 years, dermal therapist, from Melbourne, has been...

Visa changes to support the reopening of Australia and our economic recovery

The Morrison Government is making it easier for highly...

Sydney international terminal bustling once again

After nearly 600 days of closed foreign borders, I...