WI fail to qualify for ICC Champions Trophy, Bangladesh make cut


- Sponserd Ads -

In what is arguably the lowest point in its cricket history, the West Indies have failed to qualify for the 2017 Champions Trophy in England as they were not among the top eight ODI teams as per the ICC rankings on Tuesday, September 30, paving the way for Bangladesh to participate in the tournament for the first time since 2006.

It will be the first time since its inception year in 1998 (when Champions Trophy used to be known as Mini World
Cup) that the assortment of Caribbean nations will not be a part of a premier event.
Bangladesh will return to the Champions Trophy for the first time since 2006 after the eight sides were confirmed for the 2017 tournament, which will be hosted by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) from June 1 to 18.

The eight sides to play in the short and sharp, nation-versus-nation ICC Champions Trophy 2017 are (inrankings order): world champions Australia, defending champions India, 1998 winners South Africa, 2000 champion New Zealand, 2002 co-winner Sri Lanka, hosts England, Bangladesh and Pakistan.

Bangladesh’s last participation in the ICC Champions Trophy was in India, when it featured in the qualifying round.
It lost to Sri Lanka (by 37 runs) and the West Indies (by 10 wickets). Its only victory was against Zimbabwe by 101 runs.
Since the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, the Bangladesh cricket team has been on a high and has produced very strong performances. It won ODI series against Pakistan, India and South Africa, which has helped it jump from ninth to seventh in the ICC ODI Team Rankings.

The Champions Trophy 2017 will be a 15-match tournament, with teams split into two groups of four, with the top two teams in each group progressing to the semi-finals. The groups and the schedule for the ICC Champions Trophy will be announced in due course.

With the sides for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 now confirmed, the next important qualification date in the
diaries of the 12 teams on the ICC ODI Team Rankings will be September 30, 2017.

Online Source

The Indian Telegraph Sydney Australia

Share post:


More like this

Miss India Australia 2021 Winner

Sanya Arora, 22 years, dermal therapist, from Melbourne, has been...

Visa changes to support the reopening of Australia and our economic recovery

The Morrison Government is making it easier for highly...

Sydney international terminal bustling once again

After nearly 600 days of closed foreign borders, I...