Daytime Emmys 2020: Full list of winners


- Sponserd Ads -

The U.S. National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the winners of the 47th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards on Friday. The women of “The Talk” – Sharon Osbourne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba and Marie Osmond – presided over the two-hour telecast on CBS.

Nominees, presenters and hosts checked in remotely instead of gathering at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium, where the show was to be held on June 12.

Following is a list of winners in key categories:

Outstanding Drama SeriesThe Young and the Restless
Outstanding Digital Drama SeriesThe Bay The Series
Outstanding Culinary SeriesGiada Entertains
Outstanding Game ShowJeopardy!
Outstanding Legal/Courtroom ProgramThe People’s Court
Outstanding Morning ShowToday Show
Outstanding Informative Talk ShowThe View
Outstanding Entertainment Talk ShowThe Ellen DeGeneres Show
Outstanding Entertainment News ShowEntertainment Tonight
Outstanding Special Class SpecialSesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration
Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actress in a Drama SeriesHeather Tom as Katie Logan (The Bold and the Beautiful)
Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actor in a Drama SeriesJason Thompson as Billy Abbott (The Young and the Restless)
Outstanding Writing Team for a Drama SeriesThe Bold and the Beautiful
Outstanding Directing Team for a Drama SeriesGeneral Hospital
Outstanding Original Song“The Bad Guys?” Brainwashed By Toons
Outstanding Casting for a Drama or Digital Drama SeriesEastsiders

Ellen DeGeneres accepted the trophy and said from home: “I intend to use the next two years of my show as a platform for change, to amplify voices of Black people and people of color and to educate my audience…More than ever, I feel like this is a responsibility to effect change.”

Alex Trebek won best game show host for the second straight year and “Jeopardy!” claimed game show honors. At 79, Trebek continues to preside over the popular quiz show while battling pancreatic cancer. In March, he announced he had survived one year of treatment. Taping of the show has since been suspended during the coronavirus pandemic, which has affected talk shows and daytime dramas.

“I’ll be honest with you, this one is a shock, very surprising to me,” Trebek said. “Speaking as one who has now been nominated 32 times and won seven times, I think I can say with some degree of authority that winning is nicer.”

The Indian Telegraph
Established in 2007, The Indian Telegraph is a multi award winning digital media company based in Australia.

Share post:


More like this

Miss India Australia 2021 Winner

Sanya Arora, 22 years, dermal therapist, from Melbourne, has been...

Visa changes to support the reopening of Australia and our economic recovery

The Morrison Government is making it easier for highly...

Sydney international terminal bustling once again

After nearly 600 days of closed foreign borders, I...